Film:: Is it for me?

SimplyShaneSimplyShane Registered Users Posts: 153 Major grins
edited August 11, 2010 in Cameras
Yes, as the title suggests, I've been flirting with the idea of buying a film camera.

Ever since beginning my journey into photography two years ago, I've always used digital equipment. In fact, I freely admit that I know absolutely **nothing** about film cameras or how they work. Nothing at all.

And to be honest, this really bothers me. It is my goal to someday become a professional, and yet I have no experience in the medium that brought Photography itself to the masses.

By using a film camera, I would hopefully become more cautious and considerate of the shots I do take, as each roll costs money. Furthermore, the lack of an LCD screen also forces me to be much more careful on how I choose to expose certain situations under difficult lighting situations. I can't just look at the monitor and adjust accordingly. I have to actually KNOW what I'm doing and why I'm doing it.

Overall, I guess film presents limitations that might force me to become more knowledgeable about photography itself, rather than just relying on a machine to do the work for me. Plus, I am interested in film's apparent capability to handle dynamic range more accurately, and I do like the overall "feel" of images made with film. I enjoy the grain and the look of color apparent in certain models... (Like Fuji's Velvia.)

Granted, photoshop is more than capable of mimicking these effects. And though film cameras themselves are dirt cheap, rolls will always cost money and scanning negatives to create a digital image to share on the internet would probably be a VERY expensive endeavour. Plus, I don't have a film scanner so maybe this topic is utterly pointless based on that knowledge alone??

Any thoughts out there on all this? Am I just going insane? :dunno
---My Photography Homepage---

http://www.flickr.com/photos/bengford

Comments