Options

Critique my Website

jmphotocraftjmphotocraft Registered Users Posts: 2,987 Major grins
edited August 21, 2010 in Mind Your Own Business
PLEASE note, I am a part-time photographer. I have a "day job" in software.

That said, here it is. I just overhauled it last night:

www.jmphotocraft.com

Thanks!
-Jack

An "accurate" reproduction of a scene and a good photograph are often two different things.

Comments

• Options
    Dan7312Dan7312 Registered Users Posts: 1,330 Major grins
    edited August 19, 2010
    The site looks good!

The pre-load thing is just way too long. I'm on DSL and it took way over 10 seconds or so. Don't want to guess what it would be like on dialup. You initial page should just pop up.

You don't have an "About Us" that says something about your business and you. That helps people feel a connection to you.

Your contact button tries to pop up the configured email program, but on a lot of systems that won't work as expected because it won't be configured properly. For example on a lot of systems where the user uses gmail and never touchs outlook, it will pop up outlook, which won't be usable because the user never config'd it. Best to have you email address on a Contact Us page and/or your About Us page. You might include both a form and an email button along with the address.
  • Options
    denisegoldbergdenisegoldberg Administrators Posts: 14,277 moderator
    edited August 19, 2010
    The "please be patient" message... if I hadn't been heading to your site to critique it at your request I would have closed the browser window. It shouldn't take that long to load a few photos.

Do you really only have a single photo in each category shown on your home page? For someone looking for a particular type of photographer, you're not giving enough of a sample to make a decision.