White Balance: Do I need warm cards?

rrcolwellrrcolwell Registered Users Posts: 11 Big grins
edited August 26, 2010 in People
I just bought a 7D and also the Blue Crane Videos to go with it (a life saver to this beginner). I have been learning about WB and looking online at different cards, etc you can buy. There is a set on B&H called warm cards. My main photography is going to be portraits of people. My questions are:
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
1) If I am doing portraits only do I need warm cards or can I just get by with just a white card?
2) What is the difference between white cards and grey cards?
3) What is a black card for?
<o:p></o:p>
Please understand that I am an amateur photographer, I had a Rebel for years but never took it off the automatic setting. I am just learning about aperture & exposure (it is like discovering an entire new language for me and I am absolutely loving it), etc so you really need to dumb down your answer for me. Thanks

Comments

• Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited August 26, 2010
    I reformatted for better readability and embedded by answers below:
    rrcolwell wrote: »
    I just bought a 7D and also the Blue Crane Videos to go with it (a life saver to this beginner). I have been learning about WB and looking online at different cards, etc you can buy. There is a set on B&H called warm cards. My main photography is going to be portraits of people. My questions are:
    1. If I am doing portraits only do I need warm cards or can I just get by with just a white card?