Location?

JapersJapers Registered Users Posts: 30 Big grins
edited September 2, 2010 in Holy Macro
I guess I'd like to take this first bit to introduce myself.. My name is Japers and I'm a new macro photographer. :D I'm primarily interested in insect macro, maybe it's an "overcome the fear" thing, heh.

One of my shots:
Jumper_II_by_Japers.jpg

Anyhow, as someone who is new to macro photography, I usually shoot what's easily accessible, but I would like to search out more subjects and I'm wondering what types of location (heavily wooded areas, gardens, open fields, etc.) are ideal for certain subjects. For example: Where to find Jumping Spiders, Crab spiders, Hoverflies, Damselflies... Do you have favorite hunting grounds?

Comments

• GOLDENORFEGOLDENORFE Super Moderators Posts: 4,747 moderator
    edited September 1, 2010
    welcome to the forum :D

looks like you have been shooting macro for some time, great shot clap.gif

i shoot mainly in marsh/pool areas,dragons,damsels, hoverflys ect near woodland for flys,bees wasps butterflys , local nature reserves can find a good selection of all species.
  • Lord VetinariLord Vetinari Registered Users Posts: 15,901 Major grins
    edited September 2, 2010
    Welcome to the forum and a lovely jumper shot !

I'm lucky and do nearly all my shooting in my own garden where I can find all the things you mentioned.
    Brian V.
  • JapersJapers Registered Users Posts: 30 Big grins
    edited September 2, 2010
    Thanks guys! You both have excellent Flickr galleries! Very cool stuff!

And thanks for the info on shooting locations! I find most of my Dragonflies in citrus trees (tangerine, grapefruit, etc.), which also seems to be a great spot for Sweat Bees and Cuckoo Bees to sleep at night.

Mayweeds and other wildflowers are often the best place for me to find Hoverflies, Honeybees, Skippers, and other Butterfly/Moths.