A question for sports shooters

BlurmoreBlurmore Registered Users Posts: 992 Major grins
edited August 31, 2005 in Cameras
A little background. I have been shooting weddings and assisting for 3 years. I have been squirreling money away and finally have a 20D, 17-85 EF-s, 28 f2.8, and an 85 f1.8, and a pro lighting system. I have been supplementing my income by waiting tables for the last year, but I just put in my 2 weeks. My plan is to sell a car, buy a lens, and try my hand at sports shooting for local papers. This time of year they get hard up for decent shots of high school sports. My question to people who derive some income by photographing sporting events (it doesn't have to be your only gig) is this. Do I REALLY need at 70-200 f2.8, or can I make do with a f4 or even a consumer grade 70-300? Now I have been spoiled at work by using L glass owned by the studio. I particularly like the 70-200 f4L for its excellent image quality, and packability. These are the lenses I have considered,

70-200 f4L
Sigma EX DG HSM 70-200 f2.8
Tokina ATX-pro 70-200 f2.8
and various 70-300 f4-5.6 consumer jobbers

I figure for outdoor day sports any of these lenses can produce useable results.

At 1600 ISO I figure the top 3 can do nicely for indoor sports.

But the big fish is outdoor lighted night sports like football.

This is where I see NEED for a f2.8 lens.

I'd like to spend under 800 bucks, but I will spend 800 if it means I will have what I need right off without needing to upgrade later. I have never really been impressed with the sharpness of most after market lenses (the 70-200 f2.8 sigma being the exception) So I guess what I am looking for are examples of consumer lenses pushed to the limit in outdoor lighted night sports. ANy guidance will be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• luckyrweluckyrwe Registered Users Posts: 952 Major grins
    edited August 30, 2005