Options

Do you offer a CD of images? Should you?

PeterR717PeterR717 Registered Users Posts: 15 Big grins
edited September 15, 2010 in Mind Your Own Business
Not only CD's but any method of getting original or Hi-Res images to your customers - but NOT part of an all-inclusive package.

The way I see it and based on what I've been noticing, there are two distinct schools of thought on this.

One that says: Making a CD available to customers at all reduces profits and is a poor choice.

This is a conflict with the notion that today's computer savvy customer base would balk at not being able to post their photos on Facebook or some other social networking site. But it does make sense.

The other says: The market is steering towards digital so ignore that at your own risk.

This makes perfect sense too and as a customer I'd want the digital files. BUT as a photographer I don't want them taking the photos down to a 1 hour place and printing off lower quality images and being disappointed. I also don't want to lose out on Print Sales because I charge a bit more since I use a pro lab and have overhead to consider.

So I'm torn. The quick answer may be to just include the CD as part of the most inclusive package.

I'm really interested in the conversation on this one. So, what do you think? What do you do?

Comments

• Options
    GlortGlort Registered Users Posts: 1,015 Major grins
    edited September 8, 2010
    What market are you refering to?

I offer Cd's for sports but not for wedding, portrait etc although I cannot remember the last time I sold a print for my glamour work. I include all the images on Disk and use that to my marketing advantage.

I think the endless concern about some lab not making the most perfect print of some shooters image and it destroying their reputation is a load of unfounded and outdated fear mongering.
    I have been selling disks for years and NEVER once had anyone come back and complain.