Southern Utah

ktbluektblue Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited September 26, 2010 in Landscapes
Hi! I am just starting out, and would love any advice you may want to offer. I have a Nikon d700, and these shots were all shot this August with a Tamron 17-35mm wide angle zoom. I'd have preferred more "subject" matter for the foreground (not a cowboy, steer skull or tumbleweed to be found that trip ;) That said, I'd love to know where you think I could improve, technically or subjectively. Thanks everyone! Kate

1006706311_Vr3Ju-L-3.jpg
Sun cresting the Court of the Patriarchs, Zion Nat'l Park

1005055087_X6CCQ-XL-5.jpg
Red Cliffs outside Moab, Utah

1003763340_f5HVL-XL-9.jpg
Jade river at Mossy Cave, Hwy 12 Utah

1003774493_HPYa2-XL-9.jpg
Red Canyon Rider, Utah

1003679362_4GrqS-XL-9.jpg
Narrows, Zion Nat'l Park. (shot with Lumix point/shoot)

1005593993_NkMBU-L-3.jpg
Capitol Reef Nat'l Park

1002486927_4zFZY-XL-9.jpg
General Store, Torrey Utah

1003698434_Uy4UM-XL-10.jpg
Mesa arch at sunrise, Canyonlands

Comments

• squirl033squirl033 Registered Users Posts: 1,230 Major grins
    edited September 20, 2010
    hi Kate,

some pretty nice stuff there... that's a gorgeous part of the country, with so many photo ops it's unreal. i love the old wagon, and the Narrows at Zion look like a wonderful spot! your shot of the river on the Mossy Creek trail is a bit different from the ones i got a couple of years ago from the other side of the river, and i like the more "straight upstream" perspective you got.

how do you like the Tammy 17-35 on your D700? i find on my Canon 5D (also full-frame) that it's very soft in the corners, and gets kinda dark and fuzzy especially at apertures wider than about f/8. i can see some of that in your first image here...
    ~ Rocky
    "Out where the rivers like to run, I stand alone, and take back something worth remembering..."
    Three Dog Night

www.northwestnaturalimagery.com