Filters?

m448m448 Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
edited September 27, 2010 in Cameras
Yes, I've read up a bit on filters but mostly when I was first making the transition to a dslr. Anyone care to share some info as well as advice. I remember having a few in my shopping cart as I placed my camera order then reading something about how cheap filters mess up otherwise nice shots. So hit with me anything but rotten tomatoes.

I mostly shoot indoors, natural light but also do some outdoors stuff. I have a very beginner collection of lenses and definitely not L glass. A 50mm 1.8, the kit lens and a 55-250mm (canon).

The disclaimer. I'm not a pro, I shoot my kids and for now some friends that I refuse to charge so I can do things at my very ADD pace.

Comments

• IcebearIcebear Registered Users Posts: 4,015 Major grins
    edited September 22, 2010
    It may seem dumb to spend $50 for a clear piece of glass to put on the front of a $150 lens (50mm 1.8) but it's a habit you should get into. Look at it this way . . . the filter is the first piece of glass the photons that will eventually end up impacting your sensor encounter. If they get effed up there, no piece of "L glass" they go through in between will fix them.

You will probably end up spending more money on lenses than bodies, so protect your investment with good quality "protection" filters (I like B&W for the quality).

Polarizers, GND, ND, etc are optional add-ons to your bag-o-tricks for later.
    John :
    Natural selection is responsible for every living thing that exists.
    D3s, D500, D5300, and way more glass than the wife knows about.
  • craig_dcraig_d Registered Users Posts: 911 Major grins