Options

Best way to shoot "Battle of the Bands" at school

Bend The LightBend The Light Registered Users Posts: 1,887 Major grins
edited October 23, 2010 in Technique
In 3 weeks time, several student bands will be performing in a "Battle of the Bands" contest at the school at which I am a teacher. I have offered to do the photography for it. All the shots will be staying in-house, and no money will change hands. But it is all good experience for me, and the kids and staff will (hopefully) have some nice momentoes of the show.

Question: Given this layout...

5040001002_94f708d07a_z.jpg
battle of the bands layout by Bend The Light, on Flickr

...where would you position yourself?
I have a canon 400d, can get a battery grip. I have 18-55mm kit lens, 75-300 standard zoom. I have 28mm, 35mm, 50mm, 135mm manual lenses. I can get a monopod, or go handheld. Obviously I will not have control over the lights, and it will be dark, with stage lights. I can use all the walkway on the right, or I can go down to the floor in front of the stage.

How would you approach this? I am an amateur, never shot bands, so any advice would be very welcome. Sorrry for the long post, and Thanks in advance.

Craig

Comments

• Options
    basfltbasflt Registered Users Posts: 1,882 Major grins
    edited October 1, 2010
    the raised erea on the right , so the audience heads will not interfere
    as you are working there , its easy to block your working area with some tables or whatever , so parents wont "attack" you

and , a zoom lens
    you want entire stage , but also individual players

hope it helps
  • Options
    edited October 1, 2010
    basflt wrote: »
    the raised erea on the right , so the audience heads will not interfere
    as you are working there , its easy to block your working area with some tables or whatever , so parents wont "attack" you

and , a zoom lens
    you want entire stage , but also individual players

hope it helps