First Timer

TenThirteenTenThirteen Registered Users Posts: 488 Major grins
edited October 2, 2010 in People
Hello Everyone, I am very new to all of this and am looking for some C&C's and advice.

I want to learn how to get that angellic skin tone without an overprocessed look, to mask the capillaries in her skin. Any tips? This was shot (the one second I could get her to hold still, lol) in natural light in my friends living room with a 50mm 1.8, just for fun.

1029576028_WkSmo-L.jpg
Canon Fan

Comments

• anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
    edited October 1, 2010
    Really nice shot. Lighting is really nice. Eyes are wonderfully sharp and clear, catch-lights are great. I would probably crop it a little tighter... actually to portrait orientation.

As for the skin, I think it's fine. However, you can try to copy into a new layer mask. Then apply Gaussian Blur filter and use Screen as blending mode. You can then adjust the opacity to your liking and mask out the eyes and hair from this layer.

There are other methods as well... like using the healing brush but that takes more time.
    "I'm not yelling. I'm Cuban. That's how we talk."

Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums

My Smug Site
  • TenThirteenTenThirteen Registered Users Posts: 488 Major grins
    edited October 1, 2010
    Ahh, I have tried the Gaussian Blur before on other shots but missed the part about using 'Screen' as the blending mode. Maybe that's why every time I tried it has come out too 'fake' looking for my taste. Thanks so much!
    Canon Fan
  • anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
    edited October 1, 2010
    Ahh, I have tried the Gaussian Blur before on other shots but missed the part about using 'Screen' as the blending mode. Maybe that's why every time I tried it has come out too 'fake' looking for my taste. Thanks so much!