Newbie's Maternity Pictures.

ShutterStaciShutterStaci Registered Users Posts: 43 Big grins
edited October 3, 2010 in People
Alright, so I'm still a newb. A friend and I decided to do some maternity photos. This is about 2 weeks before her 3rd trimester. Mind you, this is in my dining room with no studio or lighting equipment nor a good editing program. Alright, bring on some critique.

1.5043563476_8d718e6899.jpg

2.5042938153_7b3df9c02c.jpg

3.5043561810_da3c320fd4.jpg

4.5043560918_97b235e679.jpg

5.5042935249_2191578da4.jpg

6.5042932113_2222497c3c.jpg

7. (and the typical)
5042932819_6aa679bbc4.jpg
Nikon D5000
Nikon P80
Nikkor 22-300 VR
Nikkor 18-55 VR

Comments

• tropicotropico Registered Users Posts: 225 Major grins
    edited October 2, 2010
    I really like the idea of nr. 4.

I am not a pro, but here is my opinions. Sorry if I am harsh...
    The other photos looks like snap-shots. The black background does not really work. If the model was placed further away from it, and more DOF, it would me more blurred out and it would have looked better. Now it just look like a black sheet with lots of wrinkles.

It also look like you have used flash, directly on the model. Flash bouncing off a wall or celing would look better. Even natural light could work for shots like these.

In # 2 you can not really see her belly.
    # 5 look overexposed and the colors look off.
    # 6 the colors look off
    #7 a thighter crop would work better I think

Photos like this is not easy, believe me I am struggeling too. Have done three maternity shots so far, and it is hard work.

Good luck and keep on practising! thumb.gif
    http://www.monicagarrett.com

Canon 5D MARK II, Canon EOS 450D
    Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L, Canon 18-55mm
    Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 75-300mm, Tokina 10-24mm, Sigma 18-200mm
  • ShutterStaciShutterStaci Registered Users Posts: 43 Big grins
    edited October 2, 2010