Options

"Make your Image Pop" in Lightroom?

KotaluKotalu Registered Users Posts: 12 Big grins
edited October 8, 2010 in Finishing School
Question for the sages:

I've been using Lightroom 3 for a few months now and love it. I'm still very new to it, and am especially trying to master curves in general and in Lightroom in particular. I stumbled across the smugmug tutorial called "Make your Image Pop", and love what it can do. But I'm hating all the exporting out of LR into PS and back again...

Is there any way to accomplish the same effect and stay in LR the whole time?

Thanks in advance, Y'all rock.

K
Kota (short for "Dakota") Lu (short for "Lucy"). Best pooches a girl could ask for.

Comments

• Options
    colourboxcolourbox Registered Users Posts: 2,095 Major grins
    edited October 4, 2010
    In Lightroom hold down the Alt/Option key while you drag the Exposure or Blacks sliders. This will show you where the highlight and shadow clipping are, so you know when to stop dragging. This is a shorter way of going through all the steps with Threshold and the eyedroppers in Photoshop.

Further poppage in Lightroom is achieved by setting, in this order, and only as needed: Brightness, Contrast, the Tone Curve, Clarity, then finally Sharpening. To pop the colors, first set White Balance correctly then boost Vibrance.
  • Options
    edited October 4, 2010
    Great! I will try this tonight. Gracias! :D
    K
    Kota (short for "Dakota") Lu (short for "Lucy"). Best pooches a girl could ask for.
  • Options
    bgarlandbgarland Registered Users Posts: 761 Major grins
    edited October 4, 2010
    I am learning Lightroom 3 as well. I just picked up a copy of Scott Kelby's book "Lightroom 3 book for digital photographers". I have been all the way through the book once now and go back often for specific references when I need a refresher.