Low light prime lens to complement 24-105 f/4 on 5D MKII

CameronCameron Registered Users Posts: 745 Major grins
edited October 6, 2010 in Cameras
I'm looking for recommendations for a good low-light prime lens I can use to complement the 24-105 when light is lacking. I'm looking for something 50mm or wider. Given that I have little experience with many of my options I thought I'd see who had some opinions. :D This is for use on a 5D Mark II.

Looking through my shots, I have a pretty even distribution of shots taken at 35-50mm so I imagine I would find both focal lengths useful.

My main consideration is usefulness towards the wide-open end as I'll likely be using my 24-105 when more light is available (or when using a flash). Here's what I'm considering:
  • Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 - Cheapest of my options, but not crazy about the build-quality or focus noise/speed (owned one previously).
  • Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 - Seems to have better build quality and focus speed but not very sharp wide-open and there are many reports of failed AF mechanisms. Likely the most popular option in the price-range.
  • Sigma 50mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM - A bit more $ than the Canon 1.4 and larger, but seems very well built. Reviews seem to indicate much better sharpness wide-open but I've also read of inconsistent auto-focus performance - true or not? :dunno
  • Canon EF 35mm f/2.0 - Inexpensive way to get a good 35mm lens. Build-quality and focus speed don't seem much better than the 50mm f/1.8.
  • Sigma 35mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM - A step up in build quality from the EF 35 f/2.0 but, like the sigma 50, I've read reports of inconsistent focus.
  • Canon EF 35mm f/1.4 L - Regarded as one of Canon's best wide primes and priced accordingly... :huh Anyone want to buy me this beauty? :lust Worth it?

Thoughts?

Comments

• ivarivar Registered Users Posts: 8,395 Major grins
    edited October 5, 2010