How to get started in working with models?

George07748George07748 Registered Users Posts: 30 Big grins
edited October 16, 2010 in People
OK, so I would classify myself as an advanced amateur, I've most of my gear in place, and I've recently invested in lightstands, umbrellas, etc. So far I've been practicing on family, etc., but I realize that patience with Dad's hobby is wearing thin.

So I'm thinking maybe it's time to hire a model - at first so I can practice lighting settings, posing, etc., but then also to start building a sort of portfolio. I'm not looking for America's Top Model, but rather someone who might have a vested enough interest to be patient with me. I've done enougth to believe that my pictures won't all be crap, but obviously I want to improve.

So I'm wondering if you folks could share what your next step was when you got to this stage? How do you get more people to photograph while learning?

If the answer is to hire a model, what should I aim for pricewise?

Thanks!

Comments

• tropicotropico Registered Users Posts: 225 Major grins
    edited October 8, 2010
    OK, so I would classify myself as an advanced amateur, I've most of my gear in place, and I've recently invested in lightstands, umbrellas, etc. So far I've been practicing on family, etc., but I realize that patience with Dad's hobby is wearing thin.

So I'm thinking maybe it's time to hire a model - at first so I can practice lighting settings, posing, etc., but then also to start building a sort of portfolio. I'm not looking for America's Top Model, but rather someone who might have a vested enough interest to be patient with me. I've done enougth to believe that my pictures won't all be crap, but obviously I want to improve.

So I'm wondering if you folks could share what your next step was when you got to this stage? How do you get more people to photograph while learning?

Thanks!

I am not a professional, but I am working my way up like you are.