I'm looking to get a Dslr on a major budget

lstzephyrlstzephyr Registered Users Posts: 16 Big grins
edited January 26, 2011 in Cameras
I've been playing with photography for a little while with a pentax p&s and now I'm really wanting to get into sports and racing photography. I'm leaning towards a Canon or Pentax Dslr but I'm a college student so I'm pretty limited in my budget. I've sold some stuff from other hobbies and come up with about a 300 dollar limit.

I'm mainly considering either a

Canon 20D with a 18-55mm kit lens and some sort of 70-200mm lens.(I was looking at rebel xt but they are more expensive than the 20D, and I don't think I would mind the weight)
Or
Pentax 10D or 100D with an equivalent lens setup. I'd probably try to add a wide lens to it if I can, but honestly I'll get the kit lens and see how I feel before going crazy buying lenses.

I'm open to other bodies but these are what I am looking at mainly.

I have noticed that pentax lenses are much cheaper and that there are many more choices in Canon lenses. The canon is supposed to be faster but I won't only be doing sports, I rather enjoy scenery and macro photography as well. I really like my pentax p&s and am attracted to the cheaper prices of the pentax stuff. I'm also attracted to the internal image stabiliztion of the pentax, as I probably can't afford IS canon lenses. The nikon stuff is pretty expensive across the board and I can't quite swing the price of a D50 or D40 so I'm looking elsewhere. I probably won't be able to buy a good canon or nikon lens until after school and at that point I would probably buy a new body as well.

Any advice? I'm spending rediculous amounts of time researching all this and I am open to anything you guys can tell me. Thanks!
An advrider looking to step up my photo game.

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,078 moderator
    edited October 11, 2010