First attempt at a portrait set

jason.moseleyjason.moseley Registered Users Posts: 23 Big grins
edited October 26, 2010 in People
Time for my youngest's nine-month pictures (well, actually 9 3/4 months. I'm behind). My wife signed me up as the official photographer. I have zero experience in shooting portraits so I did the best I could with a holiday display outside. Please give me your thoughts and critiques, as I have a feeling there's more of this in my future as the family photographer (though I'm sometimes known as "dad").

1062445399_phiNy-L.jpg

1062447104_AiBsR-L.jpg

1062442310_ZRkVw-L.jpg
Go easy on me!

Comments

• divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
    edited October 25, 2010
    The first one is the keeper here for me, especially if you crop down to just above his head - perfect pumpkins and focus on your beautiful boy! It could benefit from a bit more contrast and sharpening, but I like that one the best of the three.

#2 has focus issues - given it's the entire picture (as far as I can tell at this size), I'll guess it's motion blur (ie too slow a shutter speed to capture a crisp shot eithe because of camera shake, or because your subject is a wiggle worm!)

#3 Has potential, but you might want to do some more post-processing to try and balance up the slightly harsh light, sharpen it up a bit more etc etc.

Nice job, and adorable subject!
  • SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited October 25, 2010
    I agree with divamum, but I think all show good composition and capture his expression well. Any parent would love shots like this of there children.

Sam
  • briandelionbriandelion Registered Users Posts: 512 Major grins
    edited October 25, 2010