First Post-Family Portriats from Last Weekend

CorinthiancharmCorinthiancharm Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited October 26, 2010 in People
Hello Everyone :D This is my first post to the forum... I've been lurking for a little while, so I thought it was time to go ahead an start getting some personal feedback. I'm fairly new to photography. I started my own "alphabet photography" business in October of 2009, and have ventured into other areas since then. I am really interested in portrait photography. Here are a few from my session last weekend. Any comments and feedback are appreciated!

p.s.--the hubby just got me a new D90, so I was experimenting with that! I used the kit lens for all of these shots.

1064064694_qgFFu-M.jpg

1064065192_sMtxC-M.jpg

1064074010_uG63z-M.jpg

Comments

• VayCayMomVayCayMom Registered Users Posts: 1,870 Major grins
    edited October 26, 2010
    Hi and Welcome!! I have to ask, what is an alphabet photography business? Glad to have you post! You are going to like it here!

Ok I am going to comment on #2... the pose is what is bothering me . It took me a LONG time to accept the fact that I am responsible for how the client looks, and my job is to make them look as good as possible even before the shutter clicks. I felt my part was just taking a good photo and if they looked frumpy or messy or whatever that was their fault.

Here dad is a little thicker in the middle than the mom, but the pose is making it worse and when you look down towards the bottom of the frame he is taking up 2/3 of the photo. The main reason is his posture while holding the baby, he is doing what parents tend to do, sway the back to rest baby a bit on the hip.And that causes his tummy to stick out.