Channeling Hurrell

LlywellynLlywellyn Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,186 Major grins
edited November 5, 2010 in People
I needed to update my bio photo, and I figured it should reflect what I love shooting in my spare time: 40s style imagery. And I thought I should finally bite the bullet and try to emulate George Hurrell, master of light and the glam Hollywood portrait. This is my first attempt at his lighting style, and far from mastered. It's certainly a challenge!

Anywho, here is the result from today's efforts. Three-light setup: 30º-gridded Alien Bee 400 back camera left, SB-800 with small lumiquest softbox overhead and feathered front camera right, and SB-600 with DIY ringlight on camera axis.

Now to practice on real models! :D

1073702646_kGyU3-XL.jpg

Thanks for stopping by! :thumb

Comments

• anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
    edited November 1, 2010
    Hello pretty lady! When you say 30 degree grid... is it just the grid or do you have another modifier on that light too?
    "I'm not yelling. I'm Cuban. That's how we talk."

Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums

My Smug Site
  • LlywellynLlywellyn Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,186 Major grins
    edited November 1, 2010
    Hello pretty lady! When you say 30 degree grid... is it just the grid or do you have another modifier on that light too?

I had the AB400 flagged, too, since it was so close to the wall behind me, but other than that, just the 30º grid on the light. thumb.gif
  • anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
    edited November 1, 2010
    Have you by chance tried to shoot a gridded light through an umbrella? Been meaning to try it but always forget. Wondering what the effect would be.

My Smug Site
  • divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
    edited November 1, 2010