Options

Help with lighting for informal portraits

Bend The LightBend The Light Registered Users Posts: 1,887 Major grins
edited November 15, 2010 in Technique
Hi All,
Tomorrow, I am picking up a set of studio lights. I am borrowing them.
Not sure exactly what they are, to be honest, but I do know there are 2 of them, and they have softboxes which are about 20in square. They are on stands. I believe they have cables to trigger them from the camera hotshoe...
I have NEVER used anything like this before, and I am going to take portraits of dads and kids at a saturday club I go to with my daughter.
I will have the use of a room which is about 12 x 8 ft with windows with blinds at one end. I can put some sort of backdrop up.
Question...based on this (poor, I know) description, what sort of set up would you use?
I have a canon 400d, 18-55 kit lens, or a number of manual focus lenses (e.g. 28mm, 30mm, 35mm, 50mm f1.8), and either hand held or a tripod.
Or, could you give me some ppointers on other ways to approach this?
The dads and kids know I am new, and so are not expecting miracles, but I would like to get a few nice shots of them.
Cheers

Comments

• Options
    dangindangin Registered Users Posts: 458 Major grins
    edited November 2, 2010
    There's a crap ton of videos on youtube and videojug about how to setup studio lighting. Mastering lighting takes most photographers years, so while it's not realistic to pick it up in a forum post or two, there are a few things you can do to help make things easier on you and hopefully yield some good results.

1) Learn flat lighting quickly. While it may not be as dramatic as other types of lighting, it's safe and predictable.
    2) Shoot on a tripod. If everything else is a bit of a variable, at least be consistent. Get a test subject to pose for you and then lock in your tripod settings so that all you have to do is raise and lower for height compensation.