Portrait Lighting

TheArrianTheArrian Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
edited November 10, 2010 in People
Yes a well discussed topic here I'm sure, but one I would like advise on. I'm a nature photographer (amateur) and would like to start and expand on portrait photography. I played with some lighting today (150 watt incandescent) and from what I read, I guess the best would be CFL (and yes I'm on a budget). I'll be posting a lot here, so I'll hit the topic I came here for. Please look at this picture http://www.weddingtonphotography.com/thearian/test1.png and take a stab at the lighting setup...no doubt a professional gig, but how could I achieve something similar on a budget? Here's my photo of me from today with the listed bulb and one I failed to set my white balance on http://www.weddingtonphotography.com/thearian/test2.png All advice would be helpful. I used Adobe Lightroom on this photo (RAW format) but I ended up just leaving it as is w/o the WB correction.

Comments

• reyvee61reyvee61 Registered Users Posts: 1,877 Major grins
    edited November 10, 2010
    CFL's are the coolest option for continuous on a budget but I've used common and very inexpensive halogen but the do get very hot though they put out a lot of light.
    I'm no expert but I think there was a goodly amount post work on the image you posted....
    Maybe try diffusing the light source to widen the impact on your face or perhaps use a reflector (any white/silver material) to fill in camera left a bit on the image you posted.....
    I would encourage you to play with window light for this type of portrait as well...
    Keep on experimenting and trying different things most of all....
    Yo soy Reynaldo
  • JRDPHOTOGRAPHYJRDPHOTOGRAPHY Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
    edited November 10, 2010
    post process work
    if you were in a rut, here is some basic PhotoShopping to fix color
    1085406329_d2AVN-L.jpg