Do I Need Lightroom?

boliverboliver Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited December 9, 2010 in Finishing School
I am an avid amateur, don't use Photoshop much...too complicated and technical for me. Rather be taking photos. I have been using Picasa to uplaod and manage my photos online...and it has a basic editor. My question: Given the fact that I shoot JPEG...NOT Raw....is it worth purchasing Lightroom? I have watched a few tutorials, and heard some things from photo friends who use it...mostly good.....I want to be able to do more in depth editing of my photos. I have a website on SmugMug, have sold some photos, etc.....and want to be able to catalog and manage my 3,000 or more photos...but not if it means a really complicated system. The tutorials mostly refer to RAW pics...hence the question...thanks!

Comments

• arodneyarodney Registered Users Posts: 2,005 Major grins
    edited November 23, 2010
    Why not download a demo and give it a shot. It will work for cataloging your images and building web galleries, if you print, the print module is worth the price of admission.

And as Seeker of the Perfect Shot, you might want to through some raw’s at the Develop module! Here’s why:http://wwwimages.adobe.com/www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/family/prophotographer/pdfs/pscs3_renderprint.pdf
    Andrew Rodney
    Author "Color Management for Photographers"
    http://www.digitaldog.net/
  • aj986saj986s Registered Users Posts: 1,100 Major grins
    edited November 23, 2010
    X2 on trying the demo. LR3 does a very nice job of giving you edit capability, including dust removal and graduated filters.

Keep in mind that RAW greatly increases your ability to amend the final product, versus JPG. JPG deletes what it considers to be unnecessary data, such as extremes of light and dark, in order to compress the file size. RAW often gives you access to details that JPG removed.
    Tony P.