LR display vs JPEG vs RAW vs SMUGMUG

firedancing4lifefiredancing4life Registered Users Posts: 550 Major grins
edited November 29, 2010 in Finishing School
Hi Dgrinners,

Why does my picture look pixelated between LR, SMUGMUG, raw and jpeg? Sharpening?

Looks fine in developer module
1106143454_465HR-X2.png

Looks like crap in library mod
1106143097_ChvgA-X2.png

Looks bad in smugmug
1106143120_nkZTs-X2.png

Original JPEG looks ok at full size in SMUG
1106143671_hipdo-L.png

Tips and help to get this to look right would be appreciated.
:scratch

-Kevin

Comments

• BradfordBennBradfordBenn Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited November 27, 2010
    I am by no means an expert in these things but a few things that might help.

Safari does a horrible job with color management, I highly highly recommend going to Firefox. I read OneThumg's (Don's) blog about color space issues or this page http://www.smugmug.com/help/safari/safari.html and thought no big deal. Then I looked at the same image side by side by side in LR, Safari, and Firefox and the red was much much better and pretty much matched LR in Firefox.

Also the other thing about the library is that the images in the window are previews typically until it renders a high quality version, especially since it looks like you are shooting RAW. Also what do you have the setting for JPEG compression at?
    -=Bradford

Pictures | Website | Blog | Twitter | Contact
  • firedancing4lifefiredancing4life Registered Users Posts: 550 Major grins
    edited November 27, 2010
    wow...looks like it's a combo of my calibrated monitor settings and safari.
  • arodneyarodney Registered Users Posts: 2,005 Major grins
    edited November 28, 2010
    Safari and what I see in LR or Photoshop match exactly so considering there are only what, two color managed browsers, I’m not sure where the comment about Safari comes from. FWIW, Safari and FireFox produce identical previews on this end.
    Andrew Rodney