Athletic/Body Builder Shoot

patrickhlenzpatrickhlenz Registered Users Posts: 15 Big grins
edited December 10, 2010 in People
Hello Everyone,

My name is Patrick and I'm relatively new to the photography scene. During the past year I've figured out that I really enjoy shooting in a studio setting. The challenges are many, but I'm having a blast with the learning process.

Below is a model named Frank. He's been in body building training for the past year and was looking for some cheap (free) photos to begin marketing himself as a model as well as a competitor. I've been told by others to ditch light modifiers and soft lights for this sort of shoot and bring on the light hardness to best define the body.

Thanks in advance for any critiques and comments you have!

Patrick

1119449237_8bAwk-M.jpg

1119449190_2S4QR-M.jpg

1119449310_gddQs-M.jpg

1119449456_JwQgo-M.jpg

1119449507_y9Z2j-M.jpg

1119449705_SkMiY-M.jpg

1119449759_Kiyef-M.jpg

1119449727_9Vo5D-M.jpg

1119449890_Cvr6e-M.jpg

1119449970_ebEcB-M.jpg

1119450120_5Syyg-M.jpg

1119450178_qvbyn-M.jpg

Comments

• zoomerzoomer Registered Users Posts: 3,688 Major grins
    edited December 9, 2010
    11 and 12 look perfect. Anyone would be lucky to have those shots in their portfolio.
    Nice series. This type of lighting does work well.
    Ya done good!
  • pmbpropmbpro Registered Users Posts: 236 Major grins
    edited December 9, 2010
    Hi Patrick!

Brilliant shots! I really like #10 (such a care-free, fun expression), 11 and 12. There's a certain "something" about #8 that I like too though. It's such a unique composition and not what I'm used to seeing anywhere. :-)

It's great to see more "physique"/bodybuilding photos on Smugmug. I love shooting it too. However, I do more contest/stage shots though, so different lighting situations altogether. :D

Keep up the great work! Would love to see more.
    pmb images
    Film/TV Stills Photography