Best Lens for family shoot?

TenThirteenTenThirteen Registered Users Posts: 488 Major grins
edited December 16, 2010 in People
Ok, so SOMEHOW :dunno I got roped into shooting last minute Christmas Card photos for my Boss this Saturday. ACK!

Obviously I want these to come out great, so I am looking for advise on what to use as a main lens. I have a great shop out here that I can rent anything from, very reasonably, so if I need to rent a lens I am totally game for that.

I have a T2i, kit lens, a nifty fifty, 70-200 zoom, and a 10-20 wide angle.

They are all on the short side, father, mother, 9 yo boy, 7yo girl, 6 month old baby girl.

The shoot is at a local park, 3PM, I will have a reflector but no off camera flash (I guess I could rent a speedlight if you think I need it? I do have light stands and umbrellas)

HALP!!!!
Canon Fan

Comments

• WillCADWillCAD Registered Users Posts: 722 Major grins
    edited December 9, 2010
    I'm not a lens expert, but the first thing I thought about when I read your post was the sun.

3pm this time of year in Arizona will mean the sun is low enough to cause all sorts of problems for you. You may get very deep shadows, or it could hit your subjects right in the face and cause uncontrolable squinting, or you might wind up in a backlit situation, or the color may turn your subjects a deep orange or blood red; it all depends on the surroundings. And given that you'll need some set up and instruction time, you may not actually snap a pic till 3:30; by that time, the sun is moving FAST and lighting conditions change from minute-to-minute.

Rent the speedlight, definitely. No matter what the situation, a powerful flash unit to use as fill lighting is useful in most outdoor portrait situations.