On the way from x-c'ing today

LadukebobLadukebob Registered Users Posts: 67 Big grins
edited December 24, 2010 in Landscapes
I stopped and took a few shots of this big open area. And with the gray skies and lack of color I converted them to b&w. Traveling light all I had was my 35mm so these got cropped about 30% to get rid of too much snow in the fore ground. I'm really new to b&w's so let me know what you think.

p246526493-4.jpg

p168747021-4.jpg

p218215724-4.jpg

Thanks
Dan
Nikon D90
18-105 mm
85 mm 1.8
10-20 mm
35 mm 1.8

kleinsmith.zenfolio.com

Comments

• LadukebobLadukebob Registered Users Posts: 67 Big grins
    edited December 22, 2010
    No comments, or critiques. Are these shots that bad? headscratch.gifrofl

Probably a little boring maybe.
    Nikon D90
    18-105 mm
    85 mm 1.8
    10-20 mm
    35 mm 1.8

kleinsmith.zenfolio.com
  • Doug SolisDoug Solis Registered Users Posts: 1,190 Major grins
    edited December 22, 2010
    I really like your second shot. Love the contrast and how the background trees just seem to fade into the sky. The other two seem too gray to me, need more of a white and black point set to bring up the contrast ( actually all three would benefit). Now these are film? which I know nothing about so please take what I just said with a grain of salt as I'm looking at them as digital and trying to make suggestions. I also like your idea to convert to B/W, good choice.
  • nazquelnazquel Registered Users Posts: 181 Major grins
    edited December 22, 2010
    hi there,

i find them a bit dark and lacking contrast.

i like the subject in the foreground of trees in the 2nd shot, but wonder if you could isolate them more from the darker background. perhaps a tighter crop.

just my thoughts...
    Navin Sarma

Washington, D.C., based landscape and fine art photographer

http://navinsarmaphotography.com/
    edited December 22, 2010
    Thanks everyone, really helps to get some feedback. I'm new to black and white and I'm learning.