First Try with Senior Portraits

LlywellynLlywellyn Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,186 Major grins
edited January 4, 2011 in People
After a chilly weekend in Milwaukee with one cousin, I was off to Texas the next to stay with family for the holidays, where my aunt asked me to shoot senior portraits for another cousin. Having never done senior photos before, not knowing him as well as I do other cousins, and having never shot young men in my personal work (something I really didn't realize until now), I was a bit panicky.

Add to that the fact we accidentally left my grandmother's (with a family entourage) before presents were opened, so we had to cut the session short just as the light was getting good. For presents. :lol3

Posing men is a bear! Even though I studied posing ideas ahead of time, I utterly blanked in the chaos of the moment. Any ideas I'd had ahead of time were killed when he refused to bring his football jersey and when we didn't make it to a location I'd had my heart set on. How do you manage teenage boys? :huh

Anyhow, it was quite a learning experience, but I obviously have a ways to go. Feedback certainly welcome and appreciated!

1. Stealing Mitchell's garage-lighting technique...
1142649397_ijcWb-L.jpg

1142660355_FP8Qx-L.jpg

1142664521_a7mDe-L.jpg

1142675741_Lkq8f-L.jpg

1142682585_7mZsp-L.jpg

1142741641_KHCDH-L.jpg

1142686850_858YL-L.jpg

1142704030_9iCmR-L.jpg

9. This and the next are my favorites--near the end of the session when he was tired of being goofy and my family finally stopped teasing him (the secret to getting great smiles from him, apparently!).
1142711065_Ccc9S-L.jpg

1142714349_vXbag-L.jpg

1142736397_gi52m-L.jpg

Thanks for stopping by! :thumb

Comments

• reyvee61reyvee61 Registered Users Posts: 1,877 Major grins
    edited January 2, 2011
    Not a bad first attempt, I really like number nine.....
    Yo soy Reynaldo
  • TenThirteenTenThirteen Registered Users Posts: 488 Major grins
    edited January 3, 2011