Options

Raw

gopher78gopher78 Registered Users Posts: 50 Big grins
edited April 12, 2006 in Technique
I'm really confused by a RAW setting. When would a person use this, upside, downside etc. I have a 10D and tried reading the manuel. Big mistake. After I untwisted my eyes, I didn't have any more of a clue than when I started. Anyone help? T A L K S L O W.

Comments

• Options
    DoctorItDoctorIt Administrators Posts: 11,951 moderator
    edited January 20, 2004
    gopher78 wrote:
    I'm really confused by a RAW setting. When would a person use this, upside, downside etc. I have a 10D and tried reading the manuel. Big mistake. After I untwisted my eyes, I didn't have any more of a clue than when I started. Anyone help? T A L K S L O W.
    I just started shooting RAW myself, about 2 weeks ago after having my 300D for about 2 months, but I'll give you a quick start. First, RAW is the least "lossy" format you can save your image as. You MUST post process to get a viewable jpg out. So, in the post processor, you adjust exposure compensation, white balance, color saturation, and even sharpness (those are straight off the Canon FileViewer). The benefit for us new dSLR shooters - or at least me - is that you can worry primarily about shutter speed and aperture and leave things like white balance for later. Upside: It saves the most information so that you can adjust the image on your computer. Downside: you can't just pull images right off your CF card at anyone's computer, end quality of your jpg isn't any better, and it takes time. For us beginners, that time might not produce anything better than if you just used the Large jpg format and took a few shots of the same scence on 2 or 3 different settings.

Just my limited early experience though.
    Erik
    moderator of: The Flea Market [ guidelines ]

• Options
    ian408ian408 Administrators Posts: 21,913 moderator
    edited January 20, 2004
    Another way to look at Raw vs. Cooked is whether you intend to do