Options

Los Angeles Permit Question (non commercial use)

Alex.90Alex.90 Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited January 23, 2011 in Mind Your Own Business
Hey everyone,

I was wondering if anyone could help me out with some questions I have concerning photography permits or shooting legally in Los Angeles.

I'm a beginning amateur photographer that just enjoys taking photos. My gear is a point and shoot Canon SX210 is, tripod( brand name unavailable), and a Targus flexible tripod. I was at Los Angeles Pershing Square this past weekend doing some night photography when I was asked by a police officer to take down my tripod for I couldn't use it, and it could lead me up to an arrest. So without knowing any laws or rights at the moment I accepted and moved along. I was not disturbing or blocking the public's access, safety or calling attention. I tried to choose an angle, and quickly set up my tripod at a good place and take the shot. When I got home I tried to do some research and found out that photographers have rights and that there are permits needed for doing commercial photography. My question is if I'm not a professional photographer nor I do or use my photography for commecial use, do I still need a permit to photograph in Los Angeles with my tripod?

Also, I would appreciate if anyone could give me any advice if night photography is acceptable in places such as the Walt Disney Concert Hall, freeway bridges, Griffith Observatory, Hollywood, beaches, or any touristic sites were night photography could be shot?

Any advice, help, or response would be great! Thanks!

Photography experience: Beginner
Photo purposes: Personal,hobby, non-commercial

Comments

• Options
    AngeloAngelo Super Moderators Posts: 8,937 moderator
    edited January 19, 2011