Need help buying a new Camera

AustinAmateurAustinAmateur Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
edited February 5, 2011 in Cameras
First off, I am an amateur. I have an interest in photography ever since our newborn came along. I have a basic understanding of cameras and would love to learn more. So, here is our story.

We are looking for a new camera and are having troubles picking one. We have tried a couple cameras and have been disappointed by their image quality. Most of the cameras we have tried have had manual and priority modes. I have really liked these and would like to continue my new interest in photography. However, my wife wants a simple point and shoot camera that she can turn on and take a good picture.

This site seems like it is more for the professional or semi-pro was wondering if you guys could offer any advice on what camera to invest in. I ultimately would like an SLR but I can't justify spending the money right know when we also need a good point and shoot to carry around.

Here are the cameras we have tried and been disappointed in:

Canon Powershot SX210 - Image quality is noisy/soft, great zoom, great video, great manual and priority modes for a point and shoot.
Nikon Coolpix S8100 - Overexposed, no manual modes, and image quality is noisy/soft
Sony Cypersot DSC-HX5V - Image quality is okay but we take a lot of indoor photos in low light.

I can go on and on about these cameras but just wanted an honest opinion on which way to go.

Thanks in advance!
<!-- / message -->

Comments

• eoren1eoren1 Registered Users Posts: 2,391 Major grins
    edited February 3, 2011