Sunrise on the St.Lawerence River

OlyFanOlyFan Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
edited February 10, 2011 in Landscapes
I caught this lovely sunset on my way to work. Am hoping for some feedback on the photo. Thank you.
Sunrise on the St Lawerence.jpg

Comments

• SlipadaroSlipadaro Registered Users Posts: 22 Big grins
    edited February 6, 2011
    Sunrise
    Nice colors in the photo, too bad the shadow foreground isn't opened up a bit to show more detail.
  • schmooschmoo Registered Users Posts: 8,468 Major grins
    edited February 7, 2011
    Gorgeous colors and I kind of agree about the foreground being a little dark but it looks like it was a gorgeous sunset. thumb.gif
  • OlyFanOlyFan Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
    edited February 7, 2011
    Thank you.:-) I am still learning about settings. I have been shooting mostly in aperture priority, hopefully I'll figure things out as I go along.
  • CCROYCCROY Registered Users Posts: 90 Big grins
    edited February 8, 2011
    Sunsets are indeed difficult capture. The picture has come out well as it is nicely composed
    CCROY
    OlyFan wrote: »
    Thank you.:-) I am still learning about settings. I have been shooting mostly in aperture priority, hopefully I'll figure things out as I go along.

The only way you're going to preserve the details in the shadows and still have a pleasing sun rise, is to use a GND or bracket your shots and use Layer Masks (Blending). thumb.gif
  • OlyFanOlyFan Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
    edited February 9, 2011
    I have always loved taking photo's but boy oh boy do I have a lot to learn. :-) Thanks Mike for that info, I wish I was better with software. I may actually take a course on photoshop at our local college. this is all so fun to learn and folks on this site are so knowledgeable , but not arrogant. I was scared to death to post photo's for fear of people being mean like on other sites I've seen.