Book suggestions for CS5

GP ImagesGP Images Registered Users Posts: 152 Major grins
edited February 11, 2011 in Finishing School
Looking for book suggestions for Photoshop 5.
A little background, I have been an amateur photographer for 30 years. I know my way around most software but I am new to PS. Can anyone suggest a good book to get me headed in the right direction?
Thank you,
Glynn

Comments

• Ric GrupeRic Grupe Registered Users Posts: 9,522 Major grins
    edited February 10, 2011
    GP Images wrote: »
    Looking for book suggestions for Photoshop 5.
    A little background, I have been an amateur photographer for 30 years. I know my way around most software but I am new to PS. Can anyone suggest a good book to get me headed in the right direction?
    Thank you,
    Glynn

I find this extemely useful. :D
  • sara505sara505 Registered Users Posts: 1,684 Major grins
    edited February 10, 2011
    Ric Grupe wrote: »
    I find this extemely useful. :D

This link is useful, but not if you're new to PS, necessarily, as it brings you in, beginning in CS5.

I am in a similar boat, have been a photographer for 40 years, had even been using a basic version of PS for years, but only skimming the surface.

In the past 6 months I have finally had the kind of time I've been needing and wanting to pursue my photography more full-time, and what has been most helpful to me was joining NAPP and subscribing to Scott Kelby's on-line training courses. This has enabled me to tap into such tutorials as CS5 for Beginners - where I finally learned the interface and the tools - wow, what I got away with, knowing nothing, astounds me - and where I have also been learning about layers and masks and cloning, dodging, burning etc. etc. etc. Stuff I should have learned years ago but didn't have time. It's fantastic, and I am in love with photography all over again.
  • arodneyarodney Registered Users Posts: 2,005 Major grins
    edited February 10, 2011