If you were me...

macmasseymacmassey Registered Users Posts: 65 Big grins
edited February 18, 2011 in Cameras
I'm really in need of some input. I guess I am what's called an "advanced amateur." I own a Canon 40D with a 28-135 kit lens. I am very comfortable with both and feel I am taking some very nice photographs. I just got a bonus at work and want to get another lens. I have ruled out any L series due to cost. So, here's the situation. The thought of one of the do it all "super zooms" really has me intrigued since I'm a walk around type photographer interested in pretty much everything except macro right now. Ive read reviews on the Canon 18-200 and the Sigma and Tamron equivalents including the very tempting 18-270. The 28-135 has been quite versatile as a walk around lens but I need something longer and now I can finally do something about it. I know there is a image and workmanship quality trade off for getting such a great range and not having to change lenses. But I am also wondering if I should keep my 28-135 and buy a 70-200 from Tamron or Sigma because I am thinking they will be of better quality for that range than the super zooms, not to mention a 2.8 aperture. Any advice? If anyone does recommend a super zoom, which one?

Comments

• RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,954 moderator
    edited February 12, 2011
    In general, the greater the zoom range the less the image quality, especially at the extremes of the range. 28mm is not very wide on a 40D. You might be better off to look at something like a Tamron 17-50 f/2.8. That would open up two new areas for you: wide angle and low light/big aperture shooting. In the future, you could replace the 28-135 with a 70-200. Just a thought.
  • paddler4paddler4 Registered Users Posts: 976 Major grins
    edited February 12, 2011