Feedback requested on amateur portrait session

aquaticvideographeraquaticvideographer Registered Users Posts: 278 Major grins
edited March 6, 2011 in People
Hi People people. My good friend asked me to shoot some informal portraits of him, with the idea in mind that he would use the better ones for marketing materials for his Zumba/fitness services. We did a short shoot yesterday.

I'm not experienced with portraits and I could use some feedback/C&C on the pictures.

I'm looking for:
- Any overall feedback or tips
- Suggestions for helping model loosen up before/during shoot
- Suggestions for more compelling compositions/crops
- Tips for working in available daylight

Thanks for looking at these early versions.

1. Original, out-of-camera JPEG
1188179833_AHPMM-M.jpg

2. Minor global adjustments, crop
1188177013_E4JNB-M.jpg

3. Original, out-of-camera JPEG
1188180525_DMesm-M.jpg

4. Minor global adjustments, crop
1188177113_LSVKU-M.jpg

5. Original, out-of-camera JPEG
1188180847_6SCxn-M.jpg

6. Minor global adjustments, crop
1188177387_zwRm7-M.jpg

7. Original, out-of-camera JPEG
1188179833_AHPMM-M.jpg

8. Minor global adjustments, crop
1188176771_AK4K3-M.jpg

Comments

• HackboneHackbone Registered Users Posts: 4,027 Major grins
    edited February 15, 2011
    If these shots are for marketing a fitness service you need to show his physique. You will need to get more side direction lighting to skim ascross the body to show definition. Try some window light and have him stand toward the rear of the window and use a reflector to open the shadows.
  • QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited February 15, 2011
    light is a bit flat. red shirt is stealing attention away. background in 3,4,5,6 is distracting. The pose needs to be more masculine imo..try some some non smiling shots as well.
    D700, D600
    14-24 24-70 70-200mm (vr2)
    85 and 50 1.4
    45 PC and sb910 x2
    http://www.danielkimphotography.com