A & O Dinner

DreadnoteDreadnote Registered Users Posts: 634 Major grins
edited March 5, 2011 in People
The middle school I work for is hosting an A & O Dinner where students (ages 11-13) with 4.0 grade point averages and citizenship marks of outstanding are invited to bring 2 family members for dinner (guest list is about 100 students - so potentially 300 people present). They asked me to do portraits of the families since the school Principle and Vice Principle had received many compliments on the sports photos I have been taking for the teams as a fund raiser (though how many of the 300 will want portraits is unknown).

Here is the dilemma :scratch: I have never done portraits of any kind before. I have never posed anyone. Every picture I have ever taken has been from a "journalistic" point of view (ie. it was already happening and I just took a picture of it). The portraits will be of from one to three people. The theme for the night is "flower power", and I have license to do just about anything I want. The gear I have is a Nikon D300s w/ grip, 24-70mm 2.8, 70-200mm 2.8, 50mm 1.4, 2 SB900's, one 43" umbrella with a removable cover so I can bounce or shoot through, and a couple of super clamps and umbrella adaptors with which I hope to monkey some "strobist" setup together.

This is a "favor" I'm doing for them, so expectations are not all that high, however I would prefer not to embarrass myself either. Also, I am kicking back any profits to ASB to help fund further activities and events, so it would be nice if I was able to produce a product that the parents would actually be interested in buying. I accepted this "challenge" as a "learning experience" during which I will have to opportunity to learn the basics of portraiture. Is this venture hopelessly doomed?