Cedar Canyon...above and below.

oldovaloldoval Registered Users Posts: 456 Major grins
edited March 1, 2011 in Landscapes
This is my first attempt at would could be called a "series". The images from the top were taken from my deck. I then made my way down the mountain and tried to catch the last bit of light that fills the canyon. There were some low clouds blocking the light so it wasn't quite as dramatic as I've seen in the past. Thank you for looking.

1202102979_YT495-L.jpg
1202103970_xHeHX-L.jpg
1202104507_p4mqV-L.jpg
1202094503_xRRyA-L.jpg

1202106841_4acTt-L.jpg
1202105263_4d2Em-L.jpg
1202095259_5SHFw-L.jpg
1202096046_Cxfj9-L.jpg
1202106069_SKK8c-L.jpg

Comments

• hawkeye978hawkeye978 Registered Users Posts: 1,218 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2011
    Nice set overall. I wish I had your deck. I can see the the #2 and #3 images are the same just B&W vs. color. My 2 cents but the color works a lot better for me. I love the contrast you are getting between the red rocks and white snow. That just doesn't come out in the B&W. Love the composition in #6 and the light in the last 2 is great.
  • oldovaloldoval Registered Users Posts: 456 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2011
    Tom, Thank you.

I tend to waffle back and forth between B&W and color so I usually just give in and post both. I think I like color with these too.
  • CameronCameron Registered Users Posts: 745 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2011
    I tend to gravitate towards B&W shots, but I also like the color versions better. The red rocks peeking out from under the snow really add to the shot, especially in #3 and #8!
    edited March 1, 2011
    Thank you Cameron.
  • Sexy6ChickSexy6Chick Registered Users Posts: 948 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2011
    These are lovely photos - the newly fallen snow coats the rocky terrain and completely transforms it. And you captured some great lighting!
    ~*Natalie*~

A lover of all things photography.

Olympus E-500

My Smugmug Gallery