Options

Creative Commons licensing.. good or bad idea??

FatNakedGuyFatNakedGuy Registered Users Posts: 116 Major grins
edited March 1, 2011 in Mind Your Own Business
I've been shooting for 5 years and of those years I've made maaaaaaaybe a couple thousand bucks on images.. doesn't cover the cost of my gear by a long shot..

Subject matter tends to be musicians and for the most part they want/expect images for freeeeeeee (the more famous the act the worse it seems to be!).. I've stuck to my guns and only allowed folks to link to my watermarked galleries and have not given anything away save for a couple of friends..

Recently I heard someone talking about creative commons licensing where images can be used free of charge by anyone so long as the watermark remains intact and the images are not used for commercial gain. I really enjoy shooting concerts but am totally frustrated at not being able to make $ to refresh my gear (I have a day job so am not looking to make a living at it).

My question is...

If I release my images under a creative commons license, would the exposure be worth it (name recognition, etc) and possibly lead to paid gigs? Or am I shooting myself in the foot by allowing the images to be distributed without compensation.. FOREVER ? Presently my images sit on smugmug without many views.

Interested in hearing from folks on both sides of the fence.

Thanks!

Rick
http://weller.smugmug.com/music

Comments

• Options
    angevin1angevin1 Registered Users Posts: 3,403 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2011
    Recently I heard someone talking about creative commons licensing where images can be used free of charge by anyone so long as the watermark remains intact and the images are not used for commercial gain. I really enjoy shooting concerts but am totally frustrated at not being able to make $ to refresh my gear (I have a day job so am not looking to make a living at it).

My question is...