First Real Portrait Attempt

frankco.frankco. Registered Users Posts: 12 Big grins
edited March 5, 2011 in People
This isn't a model, I didn't dress her up for the occasion and she had no makeup (this was her little bit of info she asked me to add lol). While i've been shooting for a couple of years (mostly outdoor photography), this is my first time using a small studio setup. Please some comments and critique would be appreciated. Thanks

Shoot through umbrella high camera left, white reflector camera right about 3 feet away from subject at 90 degree.

50mm, 1/250, f/5.6

5487682992_270b00e989_b.jpg

Comments

• anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2011
    Lighting is good, although the main is a tad hot... could be the crap monitor I'm using right now at work. The ratios between main and fill are great though. Shadows are nice although a little deep on the inside corner of her left eye. The biggest issue I have is with the pose. Her head tilt has created a nice view up her nose. Not too flattering. Really good job for your first shot of this type though. Keep working on it. Next time, get her gussied up too. She's an attractive lady, she deserves it.
    "I'm not yelling. I'm Cuban. That's how we talk."

Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums

My Smug Site
  • HackboneHackbone Registered Users Posts: 4,027 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2011
    I agree with all of the above expecially the nose comment. Look at your nose shadow and see how sharp the edge of shadow is. That generally means your light is too far away or your light is very small or both. (Since you used and umbrella your light should be large enough.) Close and big will soften the edge shadow. Try the light as close as you can just out of camera. Keep it on a 45 from the subject on a horizontal and vertical axis.
  • frankco.frankco. Registered Users Posts: 12 Big grins
    edited March 1, 2011