Options

Setting up a home studio and (perhaps) starting to sell some photos.

George07748George07748 Registered Users Posts: 30 Big grins
edited March 4, 2011 in Mind Your Own Business
Hi! I'm an intermedieate amateur and I dabble in all types of photography. I started in college and then after a hiatus to work on career and kids, I restarted with digital a few years ago.

After thinking about trying it professionally, I realized I have no interest in making this my full-time profession, but I am thinking about maybe selling a few pictures (to microstock or stock sites, perhaps a family portrait or two, etc.) here and there mostly as a way to bring in new subject matter to try and perhaps offset some of the costs of the hobby.

I recently realized I might soon have the means to convert an adjacent (not attached, but shares a wall with the house) one-car garage into a little studio. Right now it's just cement, outer walls and studs. The overhead door is on the east wall and it has two standard windows facing north.

With a modest expense, I could finish the walls and ceiling (it has a pitched roof, but has a few tie-beams going across the upper portion) and end up with a nice 10x10 wall opposite the overhead door to hang backdrops and keep some (future) studio lights set up. At the other end of the space I could set up a small meeting/reception area, and perhaps remove the old overhead door and make a nicer entry. I think by doing a painted floor and perhaps shallow cabinetry, I could end up with a space that can be dedicated to photography for now, but could quickly be made back into a garage for very low cost (replacing the OH door) and still hold a car.

Has anyone done something like this? Any pros or cons you can think of?

What am I missing?

Thanks,

-George

Comments

• Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited March 3, 2011