New Camera - Looking for some advice.

JoshFinkJoshFink Registered Users Posts: 75 Big grins
edited March 9, 2011 in Cameras
My wife bought me a new camera for my birthday. A nice new Canon 7D. (great wife).

Now the problem comes in that I'm really new to dSLR's. I'd really like to find a good book or a website that will take me through working to get better photos. Walking me through the manual settings and really the best way to get better and better at taking photos.

I'm not really looking for a quick fix but a continuing education that I can follow (or start).

Does that make sense? I appreciate the help

Thanks

Josh

Comments

• dantambokdantambok Registered Users Posts: 152 Major grins
    edited March 7, 2011
    Read the manual of you camera so that you can learn how to use it.
    Know the basics (aperture, shutter speed and iso)
    watch videos
    practice!

And congrats on the camera, its a great one! :D
    Canon 7D, 450D, 50mm 1.8, 50mm 1.2, Mp-e 65mm, 70-200mm f/2.8L USM, 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM, Canon 100mm f/2.8L macro IS USM, 580exII, some sigma lenses:D
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,078 moderator
    edited March 7, 2011
    First, congratulations on the new camera. clap.gif

The site that you are on, The Digitla Grin, has some of the best advice, and from some of the best photographers, of any site that I have found on the Internet. I'm not kidding about that.

Although our advice is not organized into a series of concise tutorials it's pretty much all here. Plus you can ask almost any question here and not be chastised or ridiculed. We try very hard to make even the newest photographers feel like they can ask anything and get a reasonable answer, often with pertinent images and tips.

To start your journey into photography take a look at the links here: