Need help with pricing

Ivan the terribleIvan the terrible Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited April 2, 2011 in Mind Your Own Business
Hi there.

I am new to selling my photos (online and offline) and I am not quite sure on how to go about setting my prices. Right now I started with a 100% markup on top of the cost for Bay Photo prints in the smug mug pricing tool (and then made adjustments to round out prices and get a consistent price waterfall), but I have no clue whether I am underselling my work or whether I am asking for too much.

Also, I could use some guidance around pricing for downloads, and whether or not I should be selling for personal use (a friend told me not to do that because I would lose control over how my photos are displayed...).

I'd appreciate advise from people with experience at selling on smugmug. If you want to take a look at my pics, go to www.ivanmeljac.com and select the Iceland gallery (the only one enabled for sale right now).

Thanks!

Ivan

Comments

• denisegoldbergdenisegoldberg Administrators Posts: 14,336 moderator
    edited March 14, 2011
    ...select the Iceland gallery (the only one enabled for sale right now).
    Are you aware that your photos are essentially available for free in that gallery since you have enabled Originals for viewing?

See ORIGINALS = a gateway to free photos, & right click protection is NOT PROTECTION.

--- Denise
  • Ivan the terribleIvan the terrible Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
    edited March 14, 2011
    Need help with Pricing
    I didn't know. Thanks Denise. I fixed it by allowing X2Large viewing only.

Ivan
  • Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited March 14, 2011
    Need to watermarked them .....it does not stop theft but it is an identifier if the exif gets stripped by the thief or if you do not save with exif attached.