Options

advice on lenses - camera, please!

beezle@mac.combeezle@mac.com Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
edited November 5, 2005 in Cameras
Hi! I've been reading up on this forum because I'm about to buy a digital SLR with a nice zoom lens to go with it. I'm a photojournailst student but also into fine art. I'm probably going to go with a Rebel - either the XT or the new D20. I've heard that there isn't too much difference between the two and that I should spend less on the body and more on getting a better lens. I'd appreciate any suggestions on either. From what I've been reading it seems like the canon L series is the way to go for lenses, or a tamron? Something in the 70 - 300 range is what I'm looking for.
Thanks in advance!
Jenny

Comments

• Options
    ScottMcLeodScottMcLeod Registered Users Posts: 753 Major grins
    edited September 27, 2005
    Hi! I've been reading up on this forum because I'm about to buy a digital SLR with a nice zoom lens to go with it. I'm a photojournailst student but also into fine art. I'm probably going to go with a Rebel - either the XT or the new D20. I've heard that there isn't too much difference between the two and that I should spend less on the body and more on getting a better lens. I'd appreciate any suggestions on either. From what I've been reading it seems like the canon L series is the way to go for lenses, or a tamron? Something in the 70 - 300 range is what I'm looking for.
    Thanks in advance!
    Jenny
    Rebel XT and 70-200 F/4L

No one seems to be dissappointed with this choice.

... or the sigma 70-200 f/2.8

... or if you're on a budget, maybe the Sigma 70-300 APO... a member on this forum got some stunning shots with it the other day.
    - Scott
    http://framebyframe.ca
    [Bodies] Canon EOS 20D - Canon EOS 500
    [Lenses] Sigma APO 70-200 f/2.8 - Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 - Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 - Tamron XR Di 28-75mm f/2.8 - Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6
    [Flash] Sigma EF500 Super DG Flash