Options

problem with police, candid photos, and advertisements

jeremynativejeremynative Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited March 17, 2011 in Mind Your Own Business
hello i am just starting in photography and i specifically enjoy taking candid photos on the street in public places.

i recently got in trouble for taking someones picture and making a poster of them. i made an advertisement saying 'photographer looking for models' and posted my email on it. i asked the police why i was wrong and they said its a form of harassment to make advertisements with the photo and i need permission because it is technically commercial although no money was involved in the ad and i did not sell anything.

he said that me taking photos for my portfolio (im an art student) is a form of commercial photography because even though i didn't make money today, i could eventually make money off something else in my portfolio and it is somehow related.

he explained that taking pictures of people on the street is legal, and if i wanted to, i could simply look at them. i am an art student, i like to manipulate things. does this mean i can only manipulate and use things with pictures if i get a model release form? even if it is non-commercial advertising?

i just wanted to know for future photography, honestly though, it makes me want to sell my camera. i couldnt imagine asking permission and asking for release forms for hundreds of people i may take photos of and use for non commercial uses. i already have a large stock of candid stranger photos and i probably have used 3 out of hundreds so far. Imagine if i had to ask permission for something i probably wont use.

thank you, just trying to figure out the confusing laws

Comments

• Options
    RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,937 moderator
    edited March 17, 2011