It's in the eye of...

StevenVStevenV Registered Users Posts: 1,174 Major grins
edited September 29, 2005 in Sports
As a photographer, I look at these shots of high school volleyball and think "ugh - noise, blur, no contrast... I hate these!"

The girls' parents look at them and say "those are great pictures!"

*sigh*

from http://miltonsports.smugmug.com/gallery/824731/1/36831591

Sarah
36831591-L.jpg

Comments

• gouldphotogouldphoto Registered Users Posts: 33 Big grins
    edited September 27, 2005
    I know the feeling
    Steven,
    I shoot alot at the drag strip, the pictures and composition that I like in no way reflect what the car owners like and are purchasing. Go figure, but based on talking to a few of them I have learned what they like. And talking to some of the parents of the junior racers, they are just thrilled to have shots of the kids racing.

So, keep shooting.
    It really is all in the eye of the beholder.

Steve Gould
    www.gouldphoto.com
    StevenV wrote:
    As a photographer, I look at these shots of high school volleyball and think "ugh - noise, blur, no contrast... I hate these!"

The girls' parents look at them and say "those are great pictures!"

*sigh*

from http://miltonsports.smugmug.com/gallery/824731/1/36831591

Sarah
    36831591-L.jpg
  • StevenVStevenV Registered Users Posts: 1,174 Major grins
    edited September 28, 2005
    gouldphoto wrote:
    ... And talking to some of the parents of the junior racers, they are just thrilled to have shots of the kids racing.
    Yup, that's why I keep posting them - I know that a parent would rather have an out-of-focus blurry picture of their kid than no picture at all. It bugs me, though, to have such "bad" pictures in my portfolio for other photographers and editors to see icon10.gif
  • NetgardenNetgarden Registered Users Posts: 829 Major grins
    edited September 29, 2005