Options

I need some Opinions about my site my work

stlphotoartstlphotoart Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins
edited March 31, 2011 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
Im new to the industry looking for credible opinions on my web site and work . I wanna take this to the next level and possibly over time branch out into various aspects of the industry thanks in advance . The site is www.stlphotoart.com regards Brian

Comments

• Options
    Cygnus StudiosCygnus Studios Registered Users Posts: 2,294 Major grins
    edited March 23, 2011
    I wanna take this to the next level and possibly over time branch out into various aspects of the industry thanks in advance .

The red on black really doesn't work for me. Your landscapes and St Louis pages don't allow me to navigate back.

Your prices are darn cheap so they may appeal to some people, but I have found most buyers steer away from things that look too cheap. Paying $5 tells me that I can do it myself. Paying $100 I may see the value.

You also allow anyone to share the images (get a link). Why pay when I can post in facebook or forums or whatever? No watermarks will encourage this behavior even more.

From what I can tell, it looks like you want to move into the "art" or "print" side of the photography business. This is a huge market and you aren't even a minnow in this pond.

It can be done, but it will take quite a bit of marketing effort on your end and a lot of shooting.
    Steve

Website
  • Options
    edited March 23, 2011
    Great Points Steve Ill look into the navigating back from Saint Louis and Landscapes. I'm still figuring out my niche as far what area I would like to land . Explain what you mean about the "print" side the art side I get and yeas I feel like I lean towards the nostalgia type subjects . The Pricing I am still tweaking. The black and red I like it may not appeal to all though . Great critique thank you.
  • Options
    pilotdavepilotdave Registered Users Posts: 785 Major grins