Helping the clueless competition..

JimKarczewskiJimKarczewski Registered Users Posts: 969 Major grins
edited April 5, 2011 in Mind Your Own Business
OK, so I was a professional photographer. But I technically now am not because I'm on disability due to some body malfunctions... Anyway, I get an email from a local photographer the other day...

The gist of the email was..

I'm taking peoples pictures, shooting weddings, etc.. and I have no clue about things like Aperture, ISO, Shutter Speed, etc.. The basics.

My first thought is, you are doing weddings and have NO CLUE? Are you F*CK%NG SERIOUS?

I know we've all started somewhere but this is a mom-a-be (mommy wanna be photographer) that is seriously going to screw someones wedding up. I don't know if I should laugh my a$$ off or cry.

She wants to get together with me so I can "show her some stuff" but at this point I think a nice book would be better along with a dose of reality. Dunno... I'm torn to say yes, I'll show you some things, my day rate is $xxx. Or say hell no, here is some reading material and please don't shoot another wedding until you know your camera inside/out.

Comments

• angevin1angevin1 Registered Users Posts: 3,403 Major grins
    edited April 2, 2011
    I feel your pain, but don't really see a question here, Jim. I do photography now as a component of my art/s, but in my former life ( twice removed) I had a garage, and fellow mechanics would often say to me, "...I'm wanna come down there for a few minutes and let you show me how you do: such and such"...and I was always, really? You're F___kin kiddin me! Me: "lemme see if I got this straight, you're gonna come down here and in 15 minutes or so I'll be able to show you how I do all my magic?"
    As well, other racers used to ask..."how do you get that car to do that?" And me, "uh, dood, you haven't seen my junk pile!"