Canon Camera Help

rraaphotographyrraaphotography Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited April 17, 2011 in Cameras
I am a starting photographer still in high school. Right now I have a Canon Rebel XSI, yes I love this camera but I really want an upgrade and this is why I am here posting. So my price range is 850 and below...
I want something that is sorta light like the XSI and possibly something with video but that can be optional and 15+ mega pixels.

I was thinking of getting the Canon rebel T2i. or maybe the T3i?

Anyone help me out in deciding?

here is my photography website just to show the types of stuff I take pictures of.
http://rraaphotography.blogspot.com

Comments

• ThatCanonGuyThatCanonGuy Registered Users Posts: 1,778 Major grins
    edited April 11, 2011
    If you are comfortable with your Rebel, then the T2i and T3i are great. Those Rebels are pretty small; you may want something like a 50D (~$700, 15.1mp, nice big screen, but no video). The 40D/50D bodies have very comfortable grips that, once you hold them, you'll never want to hold your Rebel again :D I'd say you should go into your local camera store and hold some of the cameras.

The 60D is nice, you can probably find it for about $850. You might also want to consider investing in some nice glass instead of a new body. That $850 will buy a nice 17-55 or 24-70L ;~). And good glass on an average body is better than average glass on a good body.

IOW, 60D sounds nice, 50D if you can't afford a 60D, or T3i/T2i if you're happy with the ergonomics of the Rebel. Or maybe some nice glass :)
  • PhotogbikerPhotogbiker Registered Users Posts: 351 Major grins
    edited April 11, 2011
    go glass
    Got to agree with CanonGuy's suggestion, the picture is made in the glass more than the camera. I still shoot with an 8mp 20d and will spend my next $$ on more L series glass. His comment about average glass/average camera is spot on, give it some thought.