Final Cut Pro X

DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
edited July 9, 2011 in Video
Apple held an event to show off the upcoming release of the new Final Cut Pro. It wasn't an official launch, so there's no official Apple info up online yet. But it looks truly amazing, and at $299 it's a steal. Due out in June through the App Store.

Here's the best overall writeup I've found on it, so far.
Moderator Emeritus
Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops

Comments

• THX1965THX1965 Registered Users Posts: 108 Major grins
    edited April 15, 2011
    Apple's big Final Cut Pro announcement a few days ago should be great news for current FCP users and for anybody who's maybe been on the fence about switching over or simply giving it a try.

I am thinking that this upcoming version X of Final Cut Pro will take non-linear editing to a whole new level of intuitiveness. There seems to be enough automation built-in so that a complete novice can start cutting with very little effort, but with enough unprecedented power and speed to make most professionals happy. And at $299 (June 2011) it's an unbelievable bargain that must be a nightmare for the competition.

The biggest thing for the dgrin community here: completely open-format timeline with no more rendering or transcoding. Works with any footage from any camera - DSLR's, GoPro's, AVCHDm you name it. You can mix and match and no rendering is required. This is quite amazing.

Browser.jpg

Another thing that could be interesting to the community of photographers here, is the fact that it'll come with built-in easy-to-use but powerful color grading capabilities. There is no picture of it yet, but it will have secondary color correction with power masks and shapes. And everything can be animated over time.

ColorBoard.jpg

It even comes with built-in looks:

Preset-looks.jpg