Zoolander part 2

Ann McRaeAnn McRae Registered Users Posts: 4,584 Major grins
edited October 1, 2005 in People
I don't really know whether to jazz these up or leave them alone, or just pitch them! Boy do I have a long way to go to master portraits!
38163141-L.jpg

38163144-L.jpg

38163149-L.jpg

ann

Comments

• KhaosKhaos Registered Users Posts: 2,435 Major grins
    edited October 1, 2005
    Yep, it's an art I haven't mastered either.

The first can be helped by the shadow highlight tool, but I would still trash it. The reason is the bright background in the upper left. It distracts and pulls you away from the subject.

#2 is nice. But her face should be highlighted more or lighter than the rest. I'm sure Rutt has some lab work that would get it there. Also, green probably isn;t the best color to wear for an outdoor shot ith a green backgound.

#3 is nice but I think a tighter crop would help it more.

So in my opinion, toss #1, jazz up #2, tigher crop on #3.
  • DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited October 1, 2005
    They all seem a touch light to me. You might try deepening the shadows.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • XO-StudiosXO-Studios Registered Users Posts: 457 Major grins
    edited October 1, 2005
    Khaos wrote:
    Yep, it's an art I haven't mastered either.

The first can be helped by the shadow highlight tool, but I would still trash it. The reason is the bright background in the upper left. It distracts and pulls you away from the subject.

#2 is nice. But her face should be highlighted more or lighter than the rest. I'm sure Rutt has some lab work that would get it there. Also, green probably isn;t the best color to wear for an outdoor shot ith a green backgound.

#3 is nice but I think a tighter crop would help it more.

So in my opinion, toss #1, jazz up #2, tigher crop on #3.
    15524779-Ti.gif

I would toss 1 and 2, maybe after some experimenting just for practice.