Options

The HDR process (Help?)

DcMoody23DcMoody23 Registered Users Posts: 70 Big grins
edited April 28, 2011 in Finishing School
Alright, so I'm very new to HDR and understanding the process, so I have a few different questions that I'm hoping I can get answers to.
i-qqxBWPV-X2.png
The image is just a screenshot of the actual image, so that's why it's so low res . I haven't touched the shot in photoshop yet either fyi, and that's because my questions are based on how the HDR'ing came out.

First, is there any way to get rid of the ghosting? I'm looking specifically at the tree branches for this one. There was a slight wind, and that was enough to throw off the branch location of the bracketed shots.

Second, the clouds came out 'stuttering,' for lack of the appropriate word. Can I reduce this or am I stuck with it?

Third, if you'll look along certain tree branches and underneath the upper left hand cloud you can see a blue that looks very different from the rest of the sky (color wise). Is this something that should happen? Is a tedious photoshopping the only solution?

Fourth, I saved the HDR file as a 16-bit tiff - is saving as 16 bit tiff a good idea if I plan to do some editing in photoshop later on?

Lastly, what is causing me to get that red color in the first branch on the left?That is the only place that the color shows (from what I can see). I'm also getting a little bit of dark blue color, but it doesn't show well (luckily) because it's masked by the tree branches.

Sorry for the lengthiness and laundry list of questions.

ANY help is much appreciated.
Thanks in advance!

P.S. This was done with photomatix pro.

Comments

• Options
    malchmalch Registered Users Posts: 104 Major grins
    edited April 25, 2011
    Yes, 16-bit TIFF is definitely the way to go.

The "stuttering clouds", the blue spots, and those red branches (yuk!) look more like Photomatix artifacts than anything else. I can't help much with those.