D700 Vignette Tool Question

AISOSSAISOSS Registered Users Posts: 12 Big grins
edited May 2, 2011 in Cameras
HI:

My 1st post in your forum. I've been shooting APSc for too long---currently researching FF & need a few more answers to pick the best camera for me.

I really like the d700 (yeah, who doesn't) and need to know if its "Vignette Tool" works on third-party glass. Can someone help me? Thanks.

edit: I hope I posted in the right place--I am just learning about this forum. :)

Comments

• IcebearIcebear Registered Users Posts: 4,015 Major grins
    edited April 29, 2011
    Quoting from p.276 of my D700 manual:
    "Vignette control reduces vignetting for type G and D lenses (DX and PC lenses excluded)."
    So if your third-party glass is optimized for DX, or if it's a PC lens, it won't have any effect. OTOH Lightroom's post-crop vignetting effect tool doesn't give a rat's patoot what kind of lens you're using.
    John :
    Natural selection is responsible for every living thing that exists.
    D3s, D500, D5300, and way more glass than the wife knows about.
    edited April 29, 2011
    Truth? I have no idea if it works with third party lenses. I never have used it. I shoot raw anyway.
    John :
  • AISOSSAISOSS Registered Users Posts: 12 Big grins
    edited April 29, 2011
    Hey Icebear, I am very grateful for your response. Thank you! :) I have been trying to get this question answered for some time. I have been posting to my regular forum for years, but it is APS-c oriented, and not Nikon.

Today I bought the D700--never would have dreamed I would shell out this kind of money for a camera, but this is true love. I think cell phone shooters would vote to committ me and the rest of us camra fanatics.

Best!
    edited April 29, 2011